Anti-Money Laundering Unit Notification – List of Countries deemed to have equivalent AML/CFT legislation

The Anti-Money Laundering Regulations 2017 (AMLRs) came into force on October 2, 2017, as per the AMLRs please see below list of countries and territories that the Cayman Islands has judged to have equivalent AML/CFT legislation. Persons conducting relevant financial business from or within the Cayman Islands may rely on the list only for simplified due diligence, pursuant to regulations 22(d)(ii) & (iii) and 23(1) of the Anti-Money Laundering Regulations, 2017.

This list replaces Schedule 3 of the previous Money Laundering Regulations (2015 Revision), which have now been repealed and replaced by more updated Regulations.

The list of equivalent jurisdictions is approved by the Anti-Money Laundering Steering Group as part of its general oversight of anti-money laundering policy under section 5(2)(a) of the Proceeds of Crime Law, 2017 Revision. The list is not exhaustive.

List of Countries and Territories deemed to have equivalent legislation

Pursuant to regulations 22(d)(ii) & (iii) and 23(1) of the Anti-Money Laundering Regulations, 2017

Argentina Ireland
Australia Isle of Man
Austria Israel
Bahamas Italy
Bahrain Japan
Barbados Jersey
Belgium Liechtenstein
Bermuda Luxembourg
Brazil Malta
British Virgin Islands Netherlands
Canada New Zealand
Cyprus Norway
Denmark People’s Republic of China
Finland Portugal
France Singapore
Germany Spain
Gibraltar Sweden
Greece Switzerland
Guernsey United Arab Emirates
Hong Kong United Kingdom
Iceland United States of America
Support Terms of Use Privacy Policy